Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Rebate Program 2.0

Transportation

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Rebate Program 2.0

​​ATTENTION: FISCAL YEAR 2018 FUNDING WILL BECOME AVAILABLE ON JULY 1, 2017. INFORMATION DETAILS CAN BE FOUND BELOW AND UNDER THE “ADDITIONAL GUIDELINES” TAB.

IN ADDITION, REGULATIONS FOR THIS PROGRAM ARE CURRENTLY BEING DRAFTED. COMMENTS REGARDING PROGRAM REGULATIONS MAY BE SUBMITTED TO THE MARYLAND ENERGY ADMINISTRATION (MEA) PROGRAM MANAGER WHOSE CONTACT INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE UNDER THE “ADDITIONAL INFORMATION” TAB BELOW.

MEA is working with Marylanders to expand the State's growing electric vehicle recharging infrastructure through the Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Rebate Program 2.0.

Through the program, residents, governments and businesses can acquire a state rebate for purchasing or installing an electric vehicle charging station, known as Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE). In order to receive these rebates, eligible participants must apply with MEA, which will issue rebates on a first-c​ome, first-served basis.

The EVSE Rebate Program 2.0 provides funding assistance for costs incurred acquiring or installing qualified electric vehicle supply equipment on or after July 1, 2017, but before June 30, 2020. Applications must be received by MEA within 6 months of the date that the equipment or install expenses were incurred.

The EVSE Rebate Program 2.0 is a new program unique and separate from previous funding opportunities, established by legislation under the Clean Cars Act of 2017. As such, funding mechanisms established under previous programs will not impact this new program. EVSE equipment or installation costs incurred prior to July 1, 2017, along with applications submitted to previous funding programs, are ineligible for funding under the EVSE Rebate Program 2.0.

​​​​

How to Apply

 

Attention - EVSE Rebate Program 2.0
Maryland Energy Administration
1800 Washington Blvd., Suite 755
Baltimore, MD 21230

Additional Guidelines

 

MEA strongly recommends filling out forms electronically, which will save time and eliminate errors. Certain fields are validated for form and content.

  • Any illegible documents will be returned, to the applicant, unprocessed.
  • An incomplete application package will be considered ineligible until all necessary supporting documents are provided to MEA. As rebates are issued on a first-come, first-served basis, applications will not be considered for rebate funds until the date that MEA receives all necessary application documents.
  • Applications that are missing supporting documents may be returned to the applicant by MEA without being processed.
  • To be eligible for funding, EVSEs equipment and installation costs must be incurred on or after July 1, 2017, but before June 30, 2020.
  • Applications must be received by MEA within 6 months of the date that the equipment or install expenses were incurred.
  • Rebates are calculated by multiplying 40% by the purchase and installation price of your EVSE and are capped at the following amounts:
    • Residential: 40% up to $700
    • Commercial: 40% up to $4,000
    • Retail Service Station: 40% up to $5,000
  • EVSEs must be installed in the State of Maryland.
  • Individuals are limited to one (1) rebate.
  • Dual headed charging stations and/or charging stations with the capability of charging multiple vehicles at one time are considered one station under the Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Rebate Program.
  • Government applicants must utilize the Commercial Application Form
  • Commercial, Retail Service Station and Government applicants applying for more than four (4) credits must fill out the application form as well as EVSE Form A.
  • Eligible EVSEs include property in the State that is used for recharging of motor vehicles propelled by electricity.
    • MEA or an authorized representative may contact you in the future regarding driving and charging behavior as well as overall electric drive satisfaction.

Additional Information

 

The program is capped at the following amounts each year:

  • $1,200,000 in Fiscal 2018
  • $1,200,000 in Fiscal 2019
  • $1,200,000 in Fiscal 2020
  • If you have questions about the program, contact Mike Jones at Michael.Jones1@maryland.gov