
---

Q: Can you discuss EV tax incentives and rebates?

A: EV tax incentives and rebates vary by state and program. It's recommended to check

specific state resources or contact relevant authorities for detailed information.

MEA has the EVSE rebate, you can find more details about it on this page

---

Q: Are NEVI funds awarded to companies like Chargepoint, EVGo, etc.? Is there

any protection for consumers against price gouging of fast charging along major

roads?

A: The majority of NEVI funds are anticipated to be awarded to private companies to

install and operate chargers for at least five years, which is a federal requirement. One of

the evaluation factors considered when selecting awards is the applicant's plan for pricing

and ensuring reasonable charges to consumers.

---

Q: Where can we read more about how Maryland plans to utilize NEVI funds?

A: You can monitor updates and read more about Maryland's NEVI plans here: Maryland

NEVI Plan.

---

Q: Who should I contact for IRS-related questions about EVSE tax issues?

A: For IRS-related questions, you can contact Christopher Green at

Christopher.K.Green@irs.gov. Additional information is also available at AFDC EV Tax

Credits.

https://energy.maryland.gov/transportation/Pages/incentives_evserebate.aspx
https://evplan.mdot.maryland.gov/?doing_wp_cron=1723559410.7681560516357421875000
https://evplan.mdot.maryland.gov/?doing_wp_cron=1723559410.7681560516357421875000
https://afdc.energy.gov/laws/ev-tax-credits
https://afdc.energy.gov/laws/ev-tax-credits


---

Q: Where can I find a reasonable electrician to install a home EV charger?

A: Electricians typically charge between $500-$1,500 plus the cost of the charger. There

is no current list of vendors, but you can consider getting bids. Additionally, some users

have recommended using QMERIT, which provides quotes from a network of

electricians after filling out a questionnaire and submitting photos.

---

Q: Is there a feature to report broken EV chargers?

A: If you find a broken charger, you should first contact the property manager or charging

station company. If that does not resolve the issue, you can report it on this site: AFDC

Electric Charging Locations.

---

Q: How much rebate can I get for spending $700 on an EV charger?

A: If you spend $700, you can get half of that amount back as a rebate, as long as you

have all the necessary documentation.

---

Q: Is there a list of EV chargers that qualify for rebates?

A: The rebate program applies to all new chargers purchased, there is no preference on

brands/manufacturers.

---

https://afdc.energy.gov/fuels/electricity-locations
https://afdc.energy.gov/fuels/electricity-locations


Q: Where can I find information about the EVSE rebate program?

A: Information about the EVSE rebate program can be found on this page: Maryland

EVSE Rebate.

---

Q: Can I still apply for the $700 EV charger Maryland incentive? Is the funding still

available?

A: The residential charger rebate program for FY24 is closed but will reopen for FY25.

However, we still encourage you to submit your applications so that you remain in the 6

month window between charger purchase/installation and application submission to be

deemed eligible for the rebate program.

---

Q: Do you need a permit to install a Level 2 EV charger at home?

A: It is advisable to check with local authorities as permitting requirements can vary. The

EVSE Rebate application, however, does not require a permit as part of supporting

documentation.

---

Q: What can be done to help areas like Calvert, St. Mary's, and Charles counties

with Level 3 chargers?

A: Assistance and planning are underway to expand Level 3 charging infrastructure in

these areas. You can reach out to transportation.mea@maryland.gov for more

information.

https://energy.maryland.gov/transportation/Pages/incentives_evserebate.aspx
https://energy.maryland.gov/transportation/Pages/incentives_evserebate.aspx


---

Q: If I have already purchased an EV, can I get reimbursed if I buy another one?

A: Yes, you can get reimbursed for another EV purchase if it qualifies under the tax

incentive program.

---

Q: What documentation is needed for government contractors or government

buildings to apply for an EVSE rebate?

A: You will need to send the following documents:

1) Completed & Signed Application (handwritten and original ink signature)

We do not accept signatures through DocuSign unless they are displaying a

cursive/original signature.

2) EVSE equipment invoice (purchased EV charger receipt)

3) EVSE Installation invoice (with name, address, and date installed/paid)

4) Photo of mounted EV charger and plugged into the EV

5) W-9 Form (attached below)

---

Q: How can I access presentations about IRS-related questions and EV expenses?

A: You can access the presentation here: EV 101 Presentation. The recording and slides

from the first webinar, along with this one, will be posted here: MEA Transportation

Incentives

---

Q: Is there a telephone number available for inquiries, or why is everything handled

by email?

https://energy.maryland.gov/transportation/SiteAssets/Pages/incentives/EV%20101%20%20-%20MEA%20%281%29.pdf
https://energy.maryland.gov/transportation/Pages/incentives.aspx
https://energy.maryland.gov/transportation/Pages/incentives.aspx


A: The program uses email for documentation purposes. You can contact the relevant

departments via email for assistance.

---

Q: Why is a W-9 required for the EVSE rebate application? Will the State of

Maryland send out a 1099 form?

A: A W-9 is required because the rebate is a form of financial reimbursement, and it may

be subject to reporting requirements.

---

Q: Does the EVSE rebate cover used chargers?

A: No, the EVSE rebate currently only covers newly purchased chargers, not used ones.

---

Q: Where can I send questions or inquiries about the EVSE rebate?

A: Questions or inquiries about the EVSE rebate can be sent to evse.mea@maryland.gov.


