

Maryland Smart Energy Communities

The goal of the Maryland Smart Energy Communities (MSEC) program is to have local governments adopt energy policies and commit to them for the long term, leading to sustained energy savings and additional opportunities for renewable energy development.

Funding for eligible energy-related projects
Reduced utility and fuel expenses
Greenhouse gas emissions reduction

Any Maryland local government (counties and incorporated towns, cities) can become a Maryland Smart Energy Community.

Local governments participating in the Smart Energy Community program become eligible for grant funding from the Maryland Energy Administration (MEA) to be used for energy-related projects. On average, \$1 million in grant funding has been available per year with most communities receiving between \$10,000 and \$75,000.

MSEC grantees adopt two or more of the following policies: energy efficiency, renewable energy and or transportation petroleum reduction. MSEC grantees reduce energy consumption in their facility buildings by 15% within five years of their selected baseline year. MSEC grantees move to increase community's renewable energy capacity to meet 20% of their local government –owned buildings' electricity demand within five years of selected baseline year. MSEC grantees work to reduce petroleum fuel consumption for all local government vehicles by 20% within five years of their community's selected baseline year.

Fiscal Year 2019 Grant Program Launch

We are pleased to announce the Maryland Smart Energy Communities (MSEC) program for the fiscal year 2019 (FY19). The FY19 program budget is intended to be \$500,000 to be divided between new communities and existing MSEC communities. In the Fiscal Year 2019, funding is only available for energy-efficiency projects. Please visit our website for more details.

Caitlin Madera, Program Manager Email: msec.mea@maryland.gov

Ph: 410-537-4000

Join these MSEC members

Aberdeen Greensboro Princess Anne Cottage City Cumberland Anne Arundel County Hagerstown Ridgely **Baltimore City** Denton Harford County Riverdale Rock Hall **Baltimore County** District Heights Highland Beach Bladensburg Hyattsville Rockville Easton Bel Air Edmonston Indian head Salisbury Berlin **Emmitsburg** Landover Hills Seat Pleasant Berwyn Heights Fairmount Heights Manchester Snow Hill Boonsboro Federalsburg Middletown Somerset **Bowie** Forest Heights Takoma Park Millington **Talbot County Brentwood** City of Frederick Montgomery County Calvert County Frederick County Mount Rainier Taneytown New Carrollton Cambridge Frostburg Thurmont Capitol Heights Gaithersburg North Beach University Park Cecilton Walkersville Garrett County Ocean City Chestertown Glenarden Oxford Westernport College Park Greenbelt Prince George's County Westminster

