The Maryland Energy Efficient Appliance Rebate Program

Made possible by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act


Maryland Appliance Rebate Countdown

The Appliance Rebate Program ended Friday, Nov. 12. Please note that rebates are on a first-come, first-served basis, and no rebates are guaranteed. Only qualified, completed applications postmarked on or before Nov. 12 will be considered.
Last updated: 11/12/2010

Read the press release: Maryland Urges Residents to Take Advantage of Energy Efficient Appliance Rebate Program


Rebates, made possible by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) and the Maryland Energy Administration, were available on a first-come, first-serve basis while funding lasted.

  • ENERGY STAR Central Air Conditioner (split systems) - $500 rebate
  • ENERGY STAR Air Source Heat Pump - $500 rebate
  • ENERGY STAR Freezer - $100 rebate
  • ENERGY STAR Room Air Conditioner - $25 rebate
  • Select ENERGY STAR Refrigerators - $50 rebate
  • Select ENERGY STAR Clothes Washers - $100 rebate
  • ENERGY STAR Electric Heat Pump Water Heater - $300 rebate

Rebates for select models of refrigerators, clothes washers, and electric heat pump water heaters began April 22, 2010.

Rebate amounts:

Appliance Efficiency Criteria Maryland Rebate Amount* Qualifying Models (Must Meet Efficiency Criteria)
Refrigerator

Select ENERGY STAR qualified refrigerators with an annual kWh usage at least 25% better than the federal standard (Consortium for Energy Efficiency (CEE) Tier 2 or Tier 3)

$50 View
Clothes Washer Select ENERGY STAR qualified clothes washers with a Modified Energy Factor (MEF) of at least 2.0 and a water factor (WF) no greater than 6.0 (CEE Tier 2 or Tier 3) $100 View
Heat Pump Water Heater ENERGY STAR $300 View
Central Air Conditioner

ENERGY STAR

(split systems only)

$500 View
Air Source Heat Pump ENERGY STAR $500 View
Freezer ENERGY STAR $100 View
Room Air Conditioner ENERGY STAR $25 View

*Contact your electric utility provider for rebate forms and information about other rebates for these products.

***FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND TOTAL REBATE VALUES***

*******************************************************************************************************************

Terms and Conditions:

Terms and Conditions for the Maryland Appliance Rebate Program differ from current utility appliance rebate programs.

Before making your purchase, please note:

  • No rebates are guaranteed. Rebates will be processed in the order they are received until the funding runs out. Applications that are fully completed and include all required information will be processed first. Incomplete or incorrectly filled-in applications may delay processing and reduce chances of receiving a rebate.
  • Consumers MUST use the form appropriate to their electric utility provider and submit the application to that electric utility provider.
  • Maryland residents must purchase a qualified clothes washer, refrigerator, or electric heat pump water heater on or after April 22, 2010. Residents must purchase a qualified central air conditioner, air source heat pump, freezer, or room air conditioner on or after July 30, 2010.
  • Rebates are not retroactive and homeowners cannot claim a rebate for a clothes washer, refrigerator, or electric heat pump water heater purchased before April 22, 2010. Homeowners cannot claim a rebate for a central air conditioner, air source heat pump, freezer, or room air conditioner purchased before July 30, 2010.
  • Rebates are for residential consumers only. Landlords and property managers are not eligible for this program.
  • Consumers must certify that the new appliance/equipment replaces an existing appliance of the same type at their listed installation address. The old appliance/equipment must be taken out of operation and not reinstalled in another location.
  • Appliance/equipment must be purchased at a Maryland retailer, or the buyer must have paid applicable Maryland sales and use tax. Air source heat pumps and central air conditioners must be installed by a properly licensed Maryland contractor.
  • Appliance/equipment must be installed in a Maryland residence.
  • For refrigerators, clothes washers, electric heat pump water heaters, and freezers, consumers are limited to one Maryland rebate per appliance, per electric utility account. Limit two Maryland rebates per electric utility account for room air conditioners. For air source heat pumps and central air conditioners, consumers are limited to one Maryland rebate per each unit replaced.
  • This is a mail-in rebate program. Consumers must purchase the appliance/equipment and then send in the required documentation. Consumers will receive a check in the mail within 8-10 weeks.

*******************************************************************************************************************

Background on the Appliance Rebate Program:

Maryland is participating in the Department of Energy’s energy efficient appliance rebate program. Funding is provided by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Under the leadership of the O'Malley Brown Administration, Maryland submitted an application to the Department of Energy on October 15th for $5.4 million in funding. Phase one (clothes washers, refrigerators, and electric heat pump water heaters) launched April 22, 2010, and phase two (central air conditioners, air source heat pumps, room air conditioners, and freezers) launches July 30, 2010. The program is not retroactive, so purchases made before the program launches will not qualify for the rebate.

The Maryland Appliance Rebate Program will layer federal funding on top of the utility rebate programs, to provide consumers with additional rebates on other products. You will be able to take advantage of both the utility appliance rebate and the Maryland appliance rebate at the same time.

empowerTo find out about EmPOWER Maryland, our goal of reducing energy consumption Statewide 15% by 2015, click here.